Living Abandoned

Published February 18, 2017 by birdieklh

Are we so committed to Christ that we live COMPLETELY abandoned to our Lord, regardless what others may think of us?! Oh, how my heart desires to live and walk out my faith with total abandon every single day . . . sadly, I confess I often miss the mark.

139741251

image from freeimages.com

Can you relate? I mean, let’s be honest . . . we do seem to care about what others think about us, right? Up to a point, anyway.

Have you ever asked yourself any of the following?

  1. Will they stop being my friend if I speak up?
  2. Will I be asked to not come back to ________?
  3. How will they react to my taking a stand for what I believe in when it conflicts with what their lives are representing?

. . . there are many more questions that we ask ourselves when faced with the decision to speak/not to speak; act/not to act as we are in the company of others. Whether it be at work, at school, in the marketplace, and (unfortunately) even sometimes at our house of worship; we often find ourselves feeling slightly uncomfortable because we stand for Biblical principles and they may have a different approach . . . what to do, what to do . . .

The MAIN question to always have before you is:

Who’s opinion of me is more important, God or man?

If it is God’s . . . then why should we ever find ourselves hesitating when in the presence of others? Hmm…something to think about! After all, there is NOTHING that can ever separate us from God’s love!

I am really trying to keep the focus where it needs to be – no fear of man! Only what God thinks of me matters. Am I living my life to please Him, or please myself (or others)? There is not anything whatsoever that man can say or do to me that can destroy who I truly am in Christ!

Further reflection:

When people may speak (or act) against us, know that God’s got our back – He IS our protection. Isaiah 54:17

He IS our defense! Here are some great verses from the Psalms to meditate upon.

He IS our Joy and our Strength! Instead of reflecting upon the possible negative response from others, go ahead, be bold in your faith (lovingly, not with condemnation) and keep your heart upon the attributes He has asked us to in Philippians 4:8.

 

© klh 4-Given Ministries

2 comments on “Living Abandoned

  • Boldness in living, saying and doing what we believe is pleasing to our King. Having walked for a number of years being mindful that it is desirable to have a conscious free of offense to God and man I am reflecting on how this “plays out” in a practical way on a daily basis. Personally all I have to do is to follow Holy Spirit as I decide whether I should go here or there; whether I should say this or that; and to indulge in this or that – would these actions accord to “whatsoever is good, pure, of a good report”. Okay, what about when we are put into a situation where a brother/ sister parade themselves in a manner which obviously brings our Lord’s character into question. I mean, that action or display from my brother/ sister, does that action or display accord with the character of our Lord? If it doesn’t maybe we need to leave the presence of that questionable action/ display? Humm

    Liked by 1 person

  • I believe that first we must pray – asking Holy Spirit to guide our heart, our words and actions. Then, if He prompts us, to speak to them in love about the situation. Then (and this often seems the HARD part) let it go and allow God to work in them and through them for His glory. Sometimes we do need to walk away – until WE can calmly, lovingly speak with them.

    Like

  • Leave a comment

    Karina's Thought

    Living by Faith

    God Notes

    Notes on things God is telling me to tell you!

    Daring 2 Make a Difference

    Walking in the ways of Christ we CAN make a difference!

    Talking To My Weight Loss Counselor - God

    My weight loss counseling sessions with God

    GLA NEWS | Shines A Light On Truth

    Walking in the Favor Of God

    Reflections From the Heart

    From my heart to yours.

    sitting by sails.

    poetry by nicolas ryan brown.

    ToBeLikeJesus

    A Blog for Disciples and Disciple-Makers of Jesus Christ

    Otrazhenie

    Reflection

    CJ Penn's Online Writing Hangout

    The reason I write: To promote Christian truth and help Jesus get His Christianity back.

    Sherline's Watchu Thinkin' Blog

    The journey of self-discovery begins with God Eternally

    Pat's Letters God Inspired

    Galatians 2:16 Knowing that a man is not justified by the works of the law ,but by faith in Jesus Christ. For no one will ever be saved by obeying the law.

    Talin Orfali Ghazarian

    Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

    Joseyphina's World

    Born to Write, On a Mission to Inspire

    Spirituality Exploration Today

    Delving into the cross roads of rationality and intuition

    Word Walkers

    The Exodus Journey