The Importance of Eyesight

Published July 28, 2016 by birdieklh

 

feyesquint

image from peposevision.com

Recently I had my right eye operated on. Simple (yet my doctor told me “major eye surgery”), cataract removal with lens replacement is what the paperwork says. All I know is that the first three days were really rough for me because I had to be away from TV, Computer and phone screens – so instead I listened to scripture, declaration/prayers using scriptures, and soaking worship music. That part of it was great – but – being away from my family and friends for that amount of time was difficult for me.

Now that I am able to ‘function’ without a patch, but still with dark glasses when in bright light or outside, I find myself squinting all the time. Using enlarged text on my computer and phone, trying to focus on written words. That is hard for me since I’m working on another book trying to get it out by the end on next month. You see, my operated eye is still very blurry but I can not use my old glasses on it because it could cause damage. And without the glasses, my other eye is also very blurry. What a deal! Mercy! I know all will adjust itself in the end, and after the other eye is done, I may have to still wear glasses but until then I do not want to buy glasses temporarily while waiting for the next surgery in a month.


So, as in most all situations, I find myself asking the Lord to reveal to me a spiritual aspect to what I am experiencing in the natural.

Boy oh boy, did He answer me! Here are some things to ponder:

  • Am I seeing clearly in the Spirit?
    • why or why not?
  • What ‘lens’ am I looking through?
    • the lens of my own experience?
    • the lens of what I hear on Sundays only?
    • the lens of the media?
    • the lens of others around me (friends, family or even popular opinion)?
  • How distorted is my view?
  • Am I sure of the lens I’m using?
    • do I know that it will give me a clear picture of TRUTH?
    • does it bring everything into focus all the time or is it blurred and/or changes often?

I could actually go on, and I may at another time, but let us address these today.

There is ONLY ONE lens that is always the correct, and that is the lens that Holy Spirit provides. Only as we depend solely upon Him (as we pray, worship, study the Scriptures) to reveal Truth to us – AND – as we allow Him to direct us in applying it TO our lives, can we have clarity of vision within our spirit. When we use His lens, we don’t have to ever ‘squint’! He provides PERFECT clarity! He may not allow us to ‘see’ everything that is ahead of us, but He will give us clear direction and assurance of His protection along the way. (if we cannot see clearly, we will stumble and fall)

Let us keep our spirit eyes focused upon our Lord. Let us allow His Spirit to direct our spirit every moment of the day. Let us not resist all He is prepared to offer us – abundant life, overflowing joy, unexplained peace, just to name a few.

Clear-Vision1

image from proverbsnwisdom.com

Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
And lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, And He shall direct  your paths.” Proverbs 3:5-6 NKJV

Also ALL of Psalm 119 tells us how important His Word is in our lives! Verse 105 is the main key, but I encourage you to do read the entire Psalm (to really go in-depth, here is a Bible Study for you – Psalm 119 – A Deeper Look.

I can hardly wait for my physical eyes to come back into full focus, and as I wait I am turning to getting a clearer vision with my spiritual eyes as well.

Abba Father, thank You for Your Holy Spirit! Thank You for Your Word! Thank you, Jesus, for Your example. Help me to maintain the clearness of vision that comes only through the lens You provide! May I be quick to be obedient to that which You reveal to me. Amen.

©klh 4-Given Ministries

 

Leave a Reply

God Notes

Notes on things God is telling me to tell you!

Daring 2 Make a Difference

Walking in the ways of Christ we CAN make a difference!

Talking To My Weight Loss Counselor - God

My weight loss counseling sessions with God

GLA NEWS | Shines A light On CHAOS

Walking in the Favor Of God

Reflections From the Heart

From my heart to yours.

NotoftheNorm.

Love, Encouragement, Truth

SWORDPOINT

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Otrazhenie

Reflection

His Truth Will Set You Free

Listen to what Jesus says; “Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” (John 8:32)

Sherline's Watchu Thinkin' Blog

The journey of self-discovery begins

Pat's Letters God Inspired

Galatians 2:16 Knowing that a man is not justified by the works of the law ,but by faith in Jesus Christ. For no one will ever be saved by obeying the law.

I'm Done Being The Fat Girl

A 30-something girl on a weight loss journey who's dealing with life, love, and family one day at a time.

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Self Reflection

Genesis 1:27 "So God created people in his own image; God patterned them after Himself"

Joseyphina's World

Born to Write, On a Mission to Inspire

Spirituality Exploration Today

Delving into the cross roads of rationality and intuition

Word Walkers

The Exodus Journey

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

