Living a Sappy Life

Published September 4, 2015 by birdieklh

One of my favorite reminders from the Lord is His story of the Vine (Himself) and the branches (us). It always gets me to pondering if I’m really staying firmly connected.

When in the process of digesting this word picture yesterday I said to my husband . . . “Honey, I want to live a ‘sappy’ life! I want to be not only connected, but dripping with the good stuff flowing out of me to others.” To which he said, “sounds like a blog”…so here it is:

When we really think about how a branch functions as it is connected to the tree (or vine), we know that it is gathering its nutrients from the tree itself – the tree is getting its nutrients from the roots that go down DEEP into the earth. It receives water and minerals, and from the air it gets the oxygen it needs as well. From the richness it receives, the fruit (some trees produce ‘sap’ which can become maple syrup, and that is what I am thinking about right now) which becomes so heavy that it oozes out of the bark. People, animals, birds, bees, etc. can come and partake of its goodness. These branches need not ‘do’ anything – except – stay connected!

If a branch breaks off it falls to the ground and it dies. It can not jump up and say, “oh no – put me back” . . . it just withers away and becomes dry bark good only for fire.

If we happen to stumble in our Christian walk, our fruit dries up and dies – our sap disappears, but we can cry out in repentance to our Creator and He, in His great mercy, can graft us back in. I for one do not want that cry to have to come out of my mouth! I want to be so firmly connected, so deeply en-grafted, that  He literally oozes out of my being. When people are around me they KNOW that they have been in the presence of one who has been in the presence of the Lord. I want to live a “sappy” life – one that drips out His Love, His Grace, His Mercy, His Compassion, His Healing, His Encouragement, etc. to all I encounter.

How about you? Do you want to be dry and brittle or full of rich sap that can sweeten the pallet of others? Have you ever tasted fresh maple syrup from a maple tree? YummmmmmYummmm!  It is amazing! I used to work up in Lake Geneva Wisconsin and they had a festival every year where people would go and tap the trees and make the best maple syrup ever! The sweetness is something that I can still taste even though many years have passed.

I want to have THAT kind of impact on the lives of others – be so firmly connected to Christ Jesus that His glory emanates from me every day!

© klh 4Given Ministries

Leave a Reply

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

God Notes

Notes on things God is telling me to tell you!

Daring 2 Make a Difference

Walking in the ways of Christ we CAN make a difference!

Talking To My Weight Loss Counselor - God

My weight loss counseling sessions with God

GLA NEWS | Shines A light On CHAOS

Walking in the Favor Of God

Reflections From the Heart

From my heart to yours.

#ToBeLikeJesus

Being Conformed to His Image

Otrazhenie

Reflection

His Truth Will Set You Free

Listen to what Jesus says; “Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” (John 8:32)

Sherline's Watchu Thinkin' Blog

The journey of self-discovery begins

Pat's Letters God Inspired

Galatians 2:16 Knowing that a man is not justified by the works of the law ,but by faith in Jesus Christ. For no one will ever be saved by obeying the law.

I'm Done Being The Fat Girl

A 30-something girl on a weight loss journey who's dealing with life, love, and family one day at a time.

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Self Reflection

Genesis 1:27 "So God created people in his own image; God patterned them after Himself"

Joseyphina's World

Born to Write, On a Mission to Inspire

Spirituality Exploration Today

Delving into the cross roads of rationality and intuition

