What Drives Your Passion?

Published August 6, 2015 by birdieklh

. . . The  Word? . . . .  or   . . . the  world?earth_from_spaceopenbible

In my time of devotions prayer and Bible Study this morning,  I came across a sentence about the World and The Word, and it really got me to thinking just how very important it is for us to make the decision to have our motivations come from the right source.

Every day we are bombarded by the things of this world. We have discussed these before, but let us look at it again.

  • Television
  • Media (Tweets, FaceBook, Google, News Reports, Blogs, and the like)
  • Magazines
  • Radio Broadcasts
  • Our places of employment
  • Our schools
  • Our grocery stores

Virtually everywhere we go we are faced with the ‘noise’ of the world. Its ideas, its directions, its ideals, its propaganda, its ‘twist’ on life. One could go on and on, but you are all intelligent folk, and I know you understand what I mean.

With all of that said, it is VERY easy for us to quietly slip into the mode of our fellow citizens on this planet and carry out our day to day routines almost in ‘rote’ mode. We become mechanical in our steps. We become automatic in our responses based upon what happens around us – we see, we hear, we do according to behaviors that the world seems to be shaping us into doing.

WRONG – STOP – HOLD THE PHONE – WHAT?!

I don’t know about you but I observe that the things in this world we live in is no longer something in which I desire to even contemplate allowing myself fall into. To become robotic in my responses. I am NOT a puppet on a string. People can NOT tell me what I can and can not say. This is still a free country and if I feel that someone is heading down the wrong road, I have an obligation to speak up and speak out. I do not want to find myself on Judgement day standing before my Lord and King and have to say “I was afraid.”, “I didn’t want people to stop liking me.”, “I didn’t want to lose my job.”, I didn’t want to get an ‘F’ on an assignment.” – there are many MANY different scenarios – fact is, as a Christian, a follower of Jesus Christ, I base my life upon Godly principles. Upon The Word of God (the written and the LIVING [Jesus IS The Word made flesh – see John chapter 1]; therefore, I can not stand idly by and give in to behaviors that blend in with the worlds IF they are contrary to The Word. I, me, myself, must make the decision to stay true to Godly principles regardless of the consequences.

There is no fear in this – God has everything covered. As we are true and faithful to Him, He is ALWAYS True and Faithful to us – (capitalized because they are Names attributed to Christ). God IS Love and God NEVER FAILS! Love never fails . . . never quits . . . never gives up . . . always looks for the best . . . is always ready to be there for us. If God be for us, who can be against us?

As long as our words are seasoned by His grace, tempered through His love . . . we can stand firm until the end. We may lose some friends. We may take a failing grade for refusing to do a paper / research / presentation on something that is not in line with God’s way of doing things. We may lose a job, or even our family. But, dear ones, I don’t know about you, but I would rather have my Lord for all eternity then have people or things or position here for a short time and then be separated from Him later. I desire to be such a valiant woman of God that He allows me to be on the front lines with Him throughout all eternity. In His presence, worshiping Him, serving Him, loving Him. Will losses hurt if/when they come – yes – we do still live in the flesh and have hearts that can be wounded, but weigh the END RESULTS – in light of eternity? Hmmmmm….to me it is a ‘no brainer’.

There is a song that says “Give me Jesus, give me Jesus, you can have this whole world, but give me Jesus.” I could not have said it better!

© klh 4-Given Ministries

One comment on “What Drives Your Passion?

  • Leave a Reply

        God Notes

    Notes on things God is telling me to tell you!

    Daring 2 Make a Difference

    Walking in the ways of Christ we CAN make a difference!

    Talking To My Weight Loss Counselor - God

    My weight loss counseling sessions with God

    GLA NEWS | Shines A light On CHAOS

    Walking in the Favor Of God

    Reflections From the Heart

    From my heart to yours.

    NotoftheNorm.

    Love, Encouragement, Truth

    SWORDPOINT

    Just another WordPress.com weblog

    Otrazhenie

    Reflection

    His Truth Will Set You Free

    Listen to what Jesus says; “Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” (John 8:32)

    Sherline's Watchu Thinkin' Blog

    The journey of self-discovery begins

    Pat's Letters God Inspired

    Galatians 2:16 Knowing that a man is not justified by the works of the law ,but by faith in Jesus Christ. For no one will ever be saved by obeying the law.

    I'm Done Being The Fat Girl

    A 30-something girl on a weight loss journey who's dealing with life, love, and family one day at a time.

    talinorfali

    Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

    Self Reflection

    Genesis 1:27 "So God created people in his own image; God patterned them after Himself"

    Joseyphina's World

    Born to Write, On a Mission to Inspire

    Spirituality Exploration Today

    Delving into the cross roads of rationality and intuition

    Word Walkers

    The Exodus Journey

    Kindness Blog

    Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

