Let Them Curse

Published November 22, 2014 by birdieklh
from special-ism.com

from special-ism.com

Realizing that God is still totally in control of all situations, even when others are rising up against you is a difficult thing, indeed. Our flesh rises up and our human (sinful) nature wants to take over! We want to defend ourselves. We want to fight back. Or, we are so overwhelmed, we break down and weep. Some get angry and scream, or throw things. We all react differently to the negative things that others throw our way.

King David experienced it as well. His own son was rising up against him, and he and his men fled for their very lives. It that wasn’t enough, along the way, others rose up against David and cursed him! What was his reaction?

“David then said to Abishai and all his officials, ‘My son, who is my own flesh, is trying to take my life. How much more, then, this Benjamite! Leave him alone; let him curse, for the Lord has told him to. It may be that the Lord will see my distress and repay me with good for the cursing I am receiving today.'” 2 Samuel 16:11-12

David simply trusted in the Sovereignty of God, knowing that He had allowed the situation to take place, so he told his men to basically ignore it. That God would somehow work it out. That is an incredibly hard place to be. We tend to want to fight the situation with everything we have within us instead of submitting to God’s plan!

Father, I confess, that my flesh is weak. That I want to defend myself, and that I can hardly stop the tears at times. Forgive my foolishness. I DO know that You are in control. Thank You for showing me this verse today*, to remind me that You see all, and You know all, and what You allow in my life, You have done so for a purpose. Help me to simply trust You more this day, and to continue to serve You and You alone, wholeheartedly, treating others with the same love and compassion that You have shown me, regardless of how they may act towards me or what they may say. Only by Your Spirit, Lord, may this be accomplished, but I surrender my will to Yours, this day, and thank You for being my strength and my peace, amen.

(Found this in my archives – filing cabinet – and thought I should share it once again. It was originally written *Tuesday, October 31, 2000.)

(c) klh 4Given Ministries

Leave a comment

Karina's Thought

Living by Faith

God Notes

Notes on things God is telling me to tell you!

Daring 2 Make a Difference

Walking in the ways of Christ we CAN make a difference!

Talking To My Weight Loss Counselor - God

My weight loss counseling sessions with God

GLA NEWS | Shines A Light On Truth

Walking in the Favor Of God

Reflections From the Heart

From my heart to yours.

sitting by sails.

poetry by nicolas ryan brown.

ToBeLikeJesus

A Blog for Disciples and Disciple-Makers of Jesus Christ

Otrazhenie

Reflection

His Truth Will Set You Free

Listen to what Jesus says; “Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” (John 8:32)

Sherline's Watchu Thinkin' Blog

The journey of self-discovery begins with God Eternally

Pat's Letters God Inspired

Galatians 2:16 Knowing that a man is not justified by the works of the law ,but by faith in Jesus Christ. For no one will ever be saved by obeying the law.

Talin Orfali Ghazarian

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Joseyphina's World

Born to Write, On a Mission to Inspire

Spirituality Exploration Today

Delving into the cross roads of rationality and intuition

Word Walkers

The Exodus Journey