Crashing Waves

Published October 17, 2014 by birdieklh

There are waves . . . and then, there are WAVES . . .

from fastpics2.blogspot.com

from fastpics2.blogspot.com

from malaperu.com

from malaperu.com

Gentle waves lapping at the beach . . . those you can wiggle your toes in . . .

Harsh waves that come quickly – overbearing – poised for vicious attack – ready to wipe out everything in their path . . .

Born and raised in Southern California, I spent a LOT of time at the coast. I loved to be near the ocean, listening to the peaceful, gentled sound of the water rushing up onto the sand then rushing back into the sea. I loved to walk along the shoreline, letting my feet splash in the coolness, being refreshed with every step. And, I love to EXPERIENCE the waves with my whole body . . . nothing like the thrill of body surfing, but I’ve shared that before . . .  : )

Then, for some reason, my mind switched over to thinking about how waves can also bring about much destruction! Tsunami waves can literally destroy vast areas in a very short amount of time, property, land, PEOPLE – relentlessly it raises up, lunges for land and BAM it hits hard . . . when it ‘rushes back into the sea’ it is not just the water that goes . . . the things it touched in its rages is washed back out with it. Somethings/people, never ever to be seen again.

WOW – yet God sees – He knows exactly where each and every person is at all times.

I then reflect upon the results in the aftermath – people draw together, working side by side to rebuild. Their resolve stronger, friendships deeper, gratitude for life blossoms. The land replenishes itself, it is God’s great Creative Design.

That brought another memory to me. Fire burned land . . . up in the mid-west farmers would quite often set their ‘stubble’ from the previous years crops ablaze. These fires would not only clear away the dead unusable plants, but enrich the soil for the new crops about to be planted.

So, you are probably asking yourself, what does this have to do with anything?! Well . . . sometimes we have to go THROUGH some pretty tough situations. Situations that can appear to our human eye as complete destruction. However, God allows us to go through these things so that He can bring replenishment to our lives.

I know for me personally, that on the other side of those crashing waves of devastation that have seemingly taken away everything, I have found an incredible strength, newness, expectation of the GOOD that God has in store for me. He has been so very faithful! Every time there has been a ‘taking away’, an attack by the ravages of life, the overwhelming tsunami waves, or the unbearable heat of wildfires burning things (metaphorically speaking) away from the soil of my soul . . . He has planted, cultivated, refreshed, and brought forth amazing crops. Oh, at the time these things were in process (although I do hate to admit it publicly) I was not very – shall we say – appreciative. Not at all like the lovely little waves gently rolling over my feet that I would have/could have welcomed – no – the harsh crash of the tsunami of life! But . . . looking back, reflecting on all that the Lord has brought out of the process . . . now, THAT is welcoming to my spirit.

When you can step back and view the things that nearly destroyed you (your faith, your family, your marriage, your life) and can ‘see’ God’s loving hand guiding you, protecting YOU – when you can recognize the lush new green growth taking place, promising a huge bountiful crop beyond what you could have ever imagined – that is when we can be truly thankful for even the crashing waves (of all sizes) and the fires that burn away the dead/discarded/unusable things that would hinder the plans our Abba Father has for us.

Oh, Abba, forgive me for fighting against the waves that have come crashing down upon this life of mine. I know that You are ALWAYS there, and that You HAVE a plan and a purpose for my life. Forgive my ‘murmuring’ and ‘complaining’ ! Help me to accept, with JOY all that You allow into my life because I know that ALL things work out for good to those who love You and are called according to Your plan . . . and, that’s me! Thank You for the strength (and the peace) to get through every single situation – fully knowing I will be a stronger more faith-filled warrior in Your Kingdom on the other side. I love You, Lord! Amen

© klh 4Given Ministries

One comment on “Crashing Waves

  • Amen! As I look back at all the storms I’ve been through, I can say God was there with me all the time. Thanks for the reminder.

    Also I nominated you for the Liebster Award. Another one you can add to your collections..lol You can go to my blog for details.

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

        God Notes

    Notes on things God is telling me to tell you!

    Daring 2 Make a Difference

    Walking in the ways of Christ we CAN make a difference!

    Talking To My Weight Loss Counselor - God

    My weight loss counseling sessions with God

    GLA NEWS | Shines A light On CHAOS

    Walking in the Favor Of God

    Reflections From the Heart

    From my heart to yours.

    NotoftheNorm.

    Love, Encouragement, Truth

    SWORDPOINT

    Just another WordPress.com weblog

    Otrazhenie

    Reflection

    His Truth Will Set You Free

    Listen to what Jesus says; “Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” (John 8:32)

    Sherline's Watchu Thinkin' Blog

    The journey of self-discovery begins

    Pat's Letters God Inspired

    Galatians 2:16 Knowing that a man is not justified by the works of the law ,but by faith in Jesus Christ. For no one will ever be saved by obeying the law.

    I'm Done Being The Fat Girl

    A 30-something girl on a weight loss journey who's dealing with life, love, and family one day at a time.

    talinorfali

    Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

    Self Reflection

    Genesis 1:27 "So God created people in his own image; God patterned them after Himself"

    Joseyphina's World

    Born to Write, On a Mission to Inspire

    Spirituality Exploration Today

    Delving into the cross roads of rationality and intuition

    Word Walkers

    The Exodus Journey

    Kindness Blog

    Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

