On The Fast Track?

Published June 18, 2014 by birdieklh

from govcentral.monster.com

from govcentral.monster.com

Let’s face it . . . we live in a world today where everything seems to move at high speed.

We rush to get ready in the morning.

We rush to get to work, school, the store.

We rush to get meals prepared.

We even try to rush through the fast-food places, often grumbling that they are taking way too long – mercy, what is wrong with us?

We rush to get things in order for the night; homework done, dishes done, laundry, bathing, house straightened, clothes laid out for the next day.

We even rush to try to get to sleep faster – isn’t this kind of an oxymoron?

I know that last night, tired as I was, I could NOT fall asleep. Nothing was on my mind, I was very much at peace, completely relaxed, but I just could not get into that lovely sleep mode. I tried sitting up . . . I prayed, I sang worship songs . . . just had a precious time with the Lord. The more tired I got, it seemed, the harder it was to get my peepers (as I like to call my eyes sometimes) to close.

As I finally started to drift off to sleep it was just after 3:00 am, so needless to say, someone had a very hard time getting up out of bed this morning! But I eventually did, not too terribly late, praise God, an hubby and I did our usual first thing in the morning routine – we jumped into God’s Word. Our time of study, prayer and devotions is the highlight of our day – it sets our course – it reminds us to stay on the right track.

By the way, the right track is not necessarily the fast track! Sorry to burst your bubble, but our “Burger King Mentality” (that attitude that demands “my way right away”) does NOT cut it in God’s Kingdom.

Good things take time. Great things take time, blood, sweat and tears. Tremendous accomplishments take a colossal effort. Nothing, I repeat, NOTHING lasting in God’s Kingdom happens fast.

Our spiritual journey is one of constant growth. When / If we are put into ares of service before we are truly ready we will crash and burn. This not only causes great harm to our own lives, but also the lives of those of whom we have within our circle of influence. We will not always make good choices because our maturity level has not reached much beyond the toddler stage.

It is difficult to sit back and wait . . . believe me, I KNOW! Been there, done that (unfortunately more than once).

But, you know that saying, “Good things come to those who wait.”? The Bible calls it something else – FAITH. Hebrews chapter 12 is full of these faith giants – regular people who loved God, walked with Him, had dreams/visions imparted into their hearts, believed God WOULD fulfill that which He said, yet did not see it fully in their lifetime. That did not mean they quit, gave up, or stopped believing – that is what faith is all about. We KNOW that God is not a man – He does NOT lie. We KNOW that He is FAITHFUL to complete that which He starts. We know that His word does not return void, but that it WILL accomplish that which it has been sent to do!

With those things in mind (as well as MANY other promise filled, power packed scriptures) we can live in His Kingdom, now. Doing His work, now. Sharing His love, hope and grace, now.

If we continue to rush through everything – the fast track that so many of us have been on – we miss out on the most important thing of all. Our purpose for living. Our RELATIONSHIP with God the Father, through His Son, empowered by His Spirit! That is something that can NEVER be rushed!

It is like savoring a good meal. We sit down, say . . . Thanksgiving or Christmas . . . we take our time and enjoy every savory bite as well as the company of good friends/family. We choose to set aside our busy, fast paced life for a few hours. Why can’t we do that EVERY DAY with our Lord?! He is far more worthy of our time than anything else we could possibly be trying to rush through!

Abba Father, forgive me for my fast paced attitude when it comes to my walk with You. Forgive me. I know that You desire a relationship with me, to have us know one another intimately, and I have put you on the back burner too many times, rushing ahead with MY plans for the day. The things I ‘feel’ that I must accomplish. It is a heavy load, and yet, I know if I slow down and make the time for US (You and me) that You will lighten that load more than I could ever imagine. You have this beautiful way of stretching time for all things as long as I put You first . . . Holy Spirit, quicken this to me every day, lest I forget again. Amen.

(c) klh 4Given Ministries

2 comments on “On The Fast Track?

  • I need that reminder to slow down and “seek first the Kingdom” instead of barreling through everything. It’s only when I make time for His Word that I’ll have something to give to His kingdom, my family and my writing. (visiting via Faithful Bloggers)

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

        God Notes

    Notes on things God is telling me to tell you!

    Daring 2 Make a Difference

    Walking in the ways of Christ we CAN make a difference!

    Talking To My Weight Loss Counselor - God

    My weight loss counseling sessions with God

    GLA NEWS | Shines A light On CHAOS

    Walking in the Favor Of God

    Reflections From the Heart

    From my heart to yours.

    NotoftheNorm.

    Love, Encouragement, Truth

    SWORDPOINT

    Just another WordPress.com weblog

    Otrazhenie

    Reflection

    His Truth Will Set You Free

    Listen to what Jesus says; “Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” (John 8:32)

    Sherline's Watchu Thinkin' Blog

    The journey of self-discovery begins

    Pat's Letters God Inspired

    Galatians 2:16 Knowing that a man is not justified by the works of the law ,but by faith in Jesus Christ. For no one will ever be saved by obeying the law.

    I'm Done Being The Fat Girl

    A 30-something girl on a weight loss journey who's dealing with life, love, and family one day at a time.

    talinorfali

    Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

    Self Reflection

    Genesis 1:27 "So God created people in his own image; God patterned them after Himself"

    Joseyphina's World

    Born to Write, On a Mission to Inspire

    Spirituality Exploration Today

    Delving into the cross roads of rationality and intuition

    Word Walkers

    The Exodus Journey

    Kindness Blog

    Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

