Are You LISTENING?

Published May 22, 2014 by birdieklh

Not just hearing people’s voice as they speak, but REALLY listening to what they are actually saying?

from kgguide.blogspot.com

from kgguide.blogspot.com

The main reason I am asking this is due the fact that the other day I spent around an hour on the phone with a lady who was helping my husband and I get some assistance for things as he has now been unemployed for a number of weeks.

She seemed very informative, actually promised to send us information to help us with contacting people who would assist us with my husband’s VA information.

Anyway, she concluded the conversation saying that all the paperwork is done, and she would send everything to us for our signatures (highlighting where we needed to sign), and this would all be expedited. That was last Friday, the company is local, today is Thursday – it finally arrived. Why? The street “South Flores” somehow became “Salt Waters”.

Now, I am a person who is fairly articulate when I speak. Most people can clearly understand me. I do not rush when speaking, especially when I am passing along information to someone who is typing or writing it down. However, that, along with spelling my husband’s name wrong (even though I spelled it for her), means that we now have to start all over again.

I am honestly flabbergasted that the mail actually arrived at our destination – kudos to the postal service!

Then, last night at Bible Study, and again this morning during our personal Bible Study/Devotional/Prayer time, my husband and I were reminded of the power of our words and how to speak and how to listen. So . . . that is why today I am bringing up this subject to you.

The questions I wish to pose to myself and all who are attentive to this subject are:

1 – When someone is speaking to me, am I already forming an answer before they are finished speaking?

2 – Am I focusing on the words they are speaking? Their body language? The tone of voice they are using?

3 – Do I repeat back to them what I believe I heard them say? Along with my own question as to “Am I understanding you to say/mean…..?”

4 – Do I smile, nod my head occasionally, yet not really taking to heart the meaning of their words?

5 – Do I tend to interrupt with my own input on the subject?

O U C H !

Many people have told me “thank you, you’re such a good listener”, and I honestly had to keep myself from choking because there were times when these words were said to me and I realize that at various points in our conversation, that their voice was only on the periphery of my mind. But their words sincerely impacted me and my own mindset began to change and I absolutely began to keep the words people were speaking at the center of my own focus. I began to hone in on their words and begin to LISTEN.

Although I have become better in the listening department, I must confess that the Lord is still working on me when it comes to interrupting. Mercy, this has been a really tough one for me. An idea, quote, Scripture, example, etc. comes to me while someone is speaking and at times it feels so important that it simply wants to burst forth right out of my mouth . . . with God’s help, I will overcome this obstacle, too!

Something for all of us to think about today . . .

(c) klh 4Given Ministries

 

One comment on “Are You LISTENING?

  • Leave a Reply

        Karina's Thought

    Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

    God Notes

    Notes on things God is telling me to tell you!

    Daring 2 Make a Difference

    Walking in the ways of Christ we CAN make a difference!

    Talking To My Weight Loss Counselor - God

    My weight loss counseling sessions with God

    GLA NEWS | Shines A light On CHAOS

    Walking in the Favor Of God

    Reflections From the Heart

    From my heart to yours.

    #ToBeLikeJesus

    Being Conformed to His Image

    Otrazhenie

    Reflection

    His Truth Will Set You Free

    Listen to what Jesus says; “Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” (John 8:32)

    Sherline's Watchu Thinkin' Blog

    The journey of self-discovery begins

    Pat's Letters God Inspired

    Galatians 2:16 Knowing that a man is not justified by the works of the law ,but by faith in Jesus Christ. For no one will ever be saved by obeying the law.

    talinorfali

    Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

    Self Reflection

    Genesis 1:27 "So God created people in his own image; God patterned them after Himself"

    Joseyphina's World

    Born to Write, On a Mission to Inspire

    Spirituality Exploration Today

    Delving into the cross roads of rationality and intuition

    Word Walkers

    The Exodus Journey

