Teetering on the Precipice

Published April 8, 2014 by birdieklh

karinrockclimb1 I grew up in Southern California and have always loved the outdoors.

 

Rock climbing was a favorite! To see how high up I could go, how fast I could get there, how far I could see – amazement was beyond anything I could describe. I don’t know how many times I must have truly frightened my poor mother, bless her heart, as I would scurry on up the side of one rocky mountainside or another. Sometimes walking over to an edge looking down on her and waving at her, “Hi Mom, look at me!” Mercy, she must have been praying hard!

I wouldn’t think about how I would approach the rocks. I didn’t plan out the climb. I just did it. I put one foot in front of the other and up I went. Reaching up with my hands, finding some handhold and grabbing on, hoisted myself on to the next move upward. I simply kept my eyes on the goal – the top – where I knew I would be able to see for miles around, and I could hardly wait! The expectation was so great.

 

I have to chuckle, I haven’t changed all that much over all these years. I still find myself going on ahead, pressing onward and upward, sometimes not planning but just going. This, my friends, is not always good.

 

In fact, it can have disastrous effects! I mean, all of a sudden, we find ourselves facing precipice of vast per portions . . . now what? We can ask ourselves that question all day long, but the fact remains, we made the climb through the rocks of our lives that brought us up to this place and we can either stand here gaping down like idiotic fools or we can drop to our knees, raise our hands up towards heaven and ask God for the guidance we should have been seeking in the first place! Not that we haven’t been in communication with the Lord all along – we are in the Word and in prayer daily. He is our Source of strength moment by moment, day by day. We KNOW He is ever faithful . . . but . . .

 

Sometimes there is NO way down without His sending someone else to come and assist . . . honestly, this is where we feel ourselves teetering right now . . . do we go out and stand on a street corner holding a sign saying “please help”? We’re waiting to hear the sound of the rescue helicopter blades coming to lift us up off of this dangerous edge we’re standing on . . . there is no way down from this on our own. We have no ropes, we have no Tetons – the planning stage was not exactly overlooked, but sort of brushed over because we felt we couldn’t ‘afford’ to have a back up. Now there is a mess. Now we are standing up here looking out over the horizon – we see God’s Hand in everything, we feel His presence, we bask in His glory, we KNOW He will be there for us, He always is. As we continue to walk in obedience to Him, He has constantly taken care of us . . . yet, teetering on this precipice can be a wee bit frightening at moments.

 

I turn from the edge of this precipice, walk towards a clef in the rock, meditate upon my Lord’s Words to me, “my God shall supply all your needs according to His riches in glory” Philippians 4:19; “do not worry about tomorrow, for each day has enough trouble of its own” Matthew 6:34; “do not set your heart on what you will eat or drink, do not be anxious about it” Luke 12:29; and so on . . . I know that I know that I KNOW He IS able!

Yes, we may be up here ‘teetering’ on this quite scary precipice. Yes, there may seem to be no help or hope in sight. BUT GOD!!!!! Our trust is in Him!

 

(c) klh 4Given Ministries

One comment on “Teetering on the Precipice

Leave a Reply

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

God Notes

Notes on things God is telling me to tell you!

Daring 2 Make a Difference

Walking in the ways of Christ we CAN make a difference!

Talking To My Weight Loss Counselor - God

My weight loss counseling sessions with God

GLA NEWS | Shines A light On CHAOS

Walking in the Favor Of God

Reflections From the Heart

From my heart to yours.

THE MIRIFIC.

working wonders.

#ToBeLikeJesus

Being Conformed to His Image

Otrazhenie

Reflection

His Truth Will Set You Free

Listen to what Jesus says; “Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” (John 8:32)

Sherline's Watchu Thinkin' Blog

The journey of self-discovery begins

Pat's Letters God Inspired

Galatians 2:16 Knowing that a man is not justified by the works of the law ,but by faith in Jesus Christ. For no one will ever be saved by obeying the law.

I'm Done Being The Fat Girl

A 30-something girl on a weight loss journey who's dealing with life, love, and family one day at a time.

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Self Reflection

Genesis 1:27 "So God created people in his own image; God patterned them after Himself"

Joseyphina's World

Born to Write, On a Mission to Inspire

Spirituality Exploration Today

Delving into the cross roads of rationality and intuition

